The End

Mountain viewThe end of vacation has many different feelings for people.  I was in an airport recently listening to people who were heading home from vacation. Some of the comments:

“I need a vacation to recover from my vacation!”

“I don’t want to go back to work!”

“This was so Great!”

“I don’t want it to end”

But some were starting to think about the things that faced them at home and were making plans.  Some were checking work emails, others making to-do lists as they were preparing for the reentry into the real world.

Are those some of the same reactions as we think of end of life issues?    Instead of planning and being prepared to meet our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ we focus on what is here on earth and don’t want to leave family and friends. Can we think of going to heaven with great anticipation when our time comes knowing what a fantastic place heaven will be?  Knowing that by believing in Jesus Christ as my Savior I get to go to the most beautiful, perfect place in the entire universe. Now that’s something to look forward to! Better than any vacation we have ever experienced!

Take time to prepare for the end of your journey by being in God’s word, worshiping our amazing God and talking to others about your faith. The end may be a long way off for you but just like planning for a vacation the anticipation can be part of the fun. Take God with you into all parts of your life! Enjoy your journey!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The End

  1. Mark says:

    What a difference it makes on the journey when you have such an awesome and loving guide – who has secured the destination!

  2. I hadn’t thought of comparing going on vacation to going to heaven. But you are right. I spend lots of time getting ready to go on vacation but how much time am I spending on my relationship with God? Thanks for reminding me that heaven is “the” destination worthy of my time and attention.

Leave a Reply

