Spring break!

Welcome to Sunny Iowa-SpringbreakIowa is not your typical spring break destination.  But this sign showed up this week just in time for the start of spring break.  It made me laugh!  I could envision that this is the typical sign in Florida, not Iowa, welcoming the droves of people to their sunshine state.

Iowa – the new destination for spring break?  Not likely.  But I wondered about contentment for those who couldn’t afford this year to go to the warmer climates for their spring break.  Can we celebrate the sunshine of Iowa, enjoy the time off from school, embrace the weather whatever it is?

Paul wrote in his letter to the Philippians, 12 “I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want. 13 I can do all this through him who gives me strength.”

Spring break Iowa style!  I am content! (still praying for warm weather this next week, tho!)

This entry was posted in inspirational, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Spring break!

  1. phyllis says:

    I agree with you that 60 degrees will feel wonderful. My grandson and his friend went to Florida this morning for spring break. It will be interesting to hear what they have to say about it. I believe there’s a lot to be said for staying home and saving money!!
    Paul is a great example of being content with what he had. One of the things I’m thankful for today is the time I spent with my granddaughter. Her bubbly spirit is a joy to be around.

    • I’m sure your grandson will enjoy Florida! Family is such a blessing! How great it is to take time to spend together…Hard to imagine that Paul was in prison when he said that he was content. A good reminder to not be dependant on things but dependant on our God to give us strength!

  2. Mark says:

    What a difference contentment makes – thanks for the reminder!

Leave a Reply

