Washed clean!

muddy gueMy husband and I went on an unforgettable hike on vacation.  The area had recently gotten a lot of rain, which should have told us something.  People returning from the path kept saying it’s really muddy.  Uh huh.  No, we mean really muddy.  Quagmire, sucking your shoes off your feet muddy! Plus adding 5 pounds of mud to your shoes muddy.  Add to that the fact that it was steep with exposed roots running helter-skelter left us slip-sliding away.  It was a challenge!  But we persevered to the goal of seeing the waterfall–the waterfall that was just  a trickle.  But we were able to wash off the mud from our shoes and everywhere else on our bodies.

Our God sent us Jesus to wash off the dirt and grime of our sin.  You know those things that we do that we don’t want anyone else to know about, those things we know we shouldn’t do.  Each of us has a weakness; it’s just different for each of us.

Jesus died on the cross so that those things can be washed away. We can celebrate being washed clean of all wrong.  But what can we do the next time we are faced with that weakness?  Our God helps us resist those sins.  Call on his help to make you strong!

And call for help when you’re in trouble—
I’ll help you, and you’ll honor me. Psalm 50:15 (Message)

Celebrate another day of clean living!

This entry was posted in Devotion, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Washed clean!

  1. Phyllis says:

    I can identify with those dirty shoes!! When I detassled corn near Missouri Valley we walked in irrigation in clay soil. The mud was very heavy!! It felt good at lunch time to wash them off and then my feet felt so light!! I know that’s how I felt when I received Jesus as my Savior. Such a wonderful lightness in my soul to know that He died for me and had forgiven ALL MY SINS!! I wanted to share that with my family and I did. I think that’s the happiest I’ve ever felt in my life!

  2. Mark says:

    If only we could forget our sins as God does – hope you enjoyed the hike!

Leave a Reply

